Motorists' compulsory third party insurance privatised by South Australian government

South Australian motorists were given a choice of their private provider for third party compulsory insurance, after the state government's Motor Acccident Commission was privatised in 2016. 

Compulsory third party (CTP) insurance for South Australia’s more than one million motorists was privatised in 2016.

Previously all compulsory third party insurance was handled by the state government’s Motor Accident Commission (MAC).

Under the change, compulsory third party initially was allocated to private providers QBE Insurance (Australia), AAMI, SGIC and Allianz Australia Insurance.

 the state government department of planning, transport and infrastructure continued to issue complusory third party insurance renewal notices with vehicle registration.

Compulsory third party prices were fixed to CPI-like increases for the first three years (about 3% on average annual premiums). After that, compulsory third party would move to a fully competitive market with other approved insurers able to enter the market.

In the fourth year, motorists could stay  with their allocated compulsory third party insurer or choose to shop for better offers.

An independent Compulsory Third Party Insurance Regulator was appointed to oversee all insurers, protecting consumers and setting premiums.
The cost of premiums under the privatised scheme has been a concern.

South Australia’s compulsory third party scheme has had some major reforms. Before 2014, the scheme didn’t compensate for serious road injuries if there was no other vehicle at fault. For example, a car driver who became a quadriplegic after hitting a kangaroo wouldn’t have been eligible for a claim.

The new compulsory third party insurance scheme provided lifetime treatment, care and support to those who suffered very serious injuries from accidents on South Australian roads, regardless of fault.

Other related ADELAIDEAZ articles

South Australia kicks off household and business solar use with feed-in tarrifs

South Australia was the first Australian state to bring in a solar feed-in scheme to encourage business and householders to use solar power. The scheme is now closed to new entrants. There are now more than 160,000 installed rooftop photovoltaic (PV) solar systems on homes and businesses, equal to about 600 MW of energy. Since 2009, the state government policy has been that all government-owned buildings built or refurbished after 2010 have solar systems installed

State Opera of South Australia crashes through size limits with bold new productions

The State Opera of South Australia aspires to be the most exciting and innovative opera company in Australia. It has backed up that goal with two complete Richard Wagner Ring cycles (the Paris Châtelet production in 1998 and the first Australian-built cycle in 2004), Australian premieres of Jake Heggie’s Dead Man Walking and Moby Dick; John Adams’ Nixon in China and El Nino; Philip Glass’ biographical opera Trilogy (Akhnaten, Einstein on the beach and Satyagraha); a world premiere of Cloudstreet based on Tim Winton’s Australian novel; with Adelaide Festival and Glyndebourne Festival Opera, Flight, Le Grand Macabrethe Fiery Angel, Barrie Kovsky’s Saul and Brett Dean’s Hamlet. Created as a state government statutory authority in 1976, the State Opera of South Australia has its origins in the dedicated amateur Intimate Opera Group in 1957 leading in 1973 to the first professional, but with limited resources, New Opera South Australia that set the trend for a small specialist opera company to take on innovative work on a grand scale. With minimal staff at its Netley warehouse headquarters, State Opera is the tiny sibling of Australia’s big opera companies and its main challenge remains financial. 

First motoring club gets serious and reforms in 1911 to become Royal Automobile Association

A small group of South Australian motoring enthusiasts formed the Automobile and Motor Cycling Club in 1903. It pioneered motorsport with weekend drives, trials and Adelaide Hills climbs. The club split in 1910 between those who wanted motoring fun and those who were serious about getting help for motorists.The Automobile Club (later RAA) became the watchdog for motorists. It opposed speed limits (as low as 4m/ph) and introduced free legal defence for members in the 1920s. 


Streamlining the metro hospitals aimed to trim $900m off state's $5.9 billion health budget

The extensive and controversial Transforming Health system was announced by the Labor state government in 2015 with the slogan “Best Care. First Time. Every Time”. The system was designed to trim $900 million off the state's $5.9 billion annual health budget, with federal funding not expected to rise greatly. Transforming Health aimed for a two-tier metropolitan hospitals system, with the new Royal Adelaide Hospital, Lyell McEwin Hospital at Elizabeth and Flinders Medical Centre on the top tier.

End of South Australian Railways country trains with federal takeover; a win for road transport

After American commissioner William Webb left in 1930, the old hierarchy returned to the South Australian Railways and dismantled his reforms. But railways were struggling against other forces that were eroding their freight and passenger numbers. In the 1930s, the state government had stemmed one threat to railways through the Road and Railways Transport Act that imposed costs on road transport freight carriers. That act was repealed in 1963. Meanwhile, rising car ownership was cutting the number of passengers using trains. South Australian Railways commissioner Ron Fitch warned of the mounting financial losses. To arrest declining passenger numbers in the 1950s-60s, airconditioned Bluebird rail cars were introduced on country services in 1954 and, next year, Red Hen rail cars began operating on Adelaide suburban lines. The last steam engines ran in South Australia in 1970, ending a history that began in 1856 at the Port Dock station at Port Adelaide. In 1975, South Australian Railways was sold to a federal government agency and all its country passenger services ended. In 1978, Commonwealth Railways, South Australian Railways and the Tasmanian Government Railways merged to form Australian National railways. Australian National took over operating all federal and non-urban South Australian railway lines. The State Transport Authority of South Australia (later TransAdelaide) was created to run all Adelaide suburban rail lines for the state government.

Contact Us

We welcome positive constructive feedback