Office for Women keeps working with others to combat ongoing violence against women

The white ribbon is symbol of a campaign to raise men’s awareness about violence against women.

South Australia’s Office for Women was recognised in 2016 for its work to prevent violence against women, with a trophy from Arman Abrahimzadeh, the 2016 Young South Australian of the Year.

Arman Abrahimzadeh became a passionate advocate of empowering women and working against domestic violence after his mother Zahra was murdered by his father.

Since being named Young South Australian of the Year, he has set out to acknowledge the work by individuals and organisations to improve gender equality and prevent family violence.

In 2015, he and his sisters started the Zahra Foundation Australia to assist women in crisis and empower them with education and financial independence.
Mr Abrahimzadeh said it is important to acknowledge those working against family violence. “I first awarded the trophy to the Central Domestic Violence Service, which helped my mother, and has continued to help me and my sisters after her death.

The Office for Women, which includes the Women's Information Service, leads the state government’s work towards women’s equality through developing policy and providing advice to the government, non-government organisations and groups and the community.

The office works with both government and nongovernment agencies including women's domestic and Aboriginal violence services, Yarrow Place Rape and Sexual Assault service and the Victim Support Service.

Australian Bureau of Statistics figures show: one in five Australian women have experienced sexual violence; one in four women have experienced emotional abuse from a current or former partner, and one in three women have experienced physical violence.

Other related ADELAIDEAZ articles

Adelaide Miethke, a dynamo in education and other causes leads patriotism displays

Among Adelaide “Addie” Miethke’s remarkable contribution to South Australia was leadership of patriotic causes during World War I. As a teacher, like her Prussian father, Miethke rose through the education department ranks but was also president of the Women Teachers’ Progressive League. In 1915, the league raised £250,000 for a soldiers’ soup kitchen. In 1935, heading the Women's Centenary Council, she organised a Pageant of Empire featuring 13,600 schoolchildren.


Vicki Chapman: South Australia's first female deputy premier and attorney general in 2018

Vickie Chapman became South Australia’s first female deputy premier and attorney general in Steven Marshall Liberal government in 2018. Born on Kangaroo Island, she attended Parndana Area School and Pembroke School before graduating as a barrister in 1979 from Adelaide University law school. Her politican father Ted had belonged to Steele-Hall’s Liberal Movement moderate faction in the 1970s. Vicki Chapman won preselection for the safe eastern-suburbs Liberal seat of Bragg in 2001. She immediately joined the Liberal opposition front bench and was touted as a future Liberal leader but also seen as continuing the party’s factional battles from the Liberal Movement days. Chapman was elected deputy in 2006 to Iain Evans, from the party’s conservative faction. Backed by moderates federal Sturt MP Christopher Pyne and former premier Dean Brown, Chapman kept the deputy post when Martin Hamilton-Smith ousted Evans as leader in 2007. Chapman ran against Hamilton-Smith for the leadership in 2009 but received only 10 votes, against Hamilton-Smith's 11, with Evans abstaining. Conservative Isobel Redmond was elected deputy leader to replace Chapman. When Hamilton-Smith stepped aside, Chapman again ran for the leadership but received only nine votes against Redmond's 13. After a third Liberal election loss in 2010, when she was linked to a challenge to Redmond, Chapman voted for Hamilton-Smith as deputy leader against Evans. Chapman’s second term as deputy leader was solidified when she ruled out challenging new Liberal leader Marshall in 2013.

SA Country Women's Association a great contributor to rural life in war and peace

The South Australian Country Women's Association, originating through Mary Warnes at Burra in 1926, had 277 branches and 14,000 members at its peak in 1956 – declining to 7500 by 1988. Early CWA activities included rest rooms in regional centres and a circulating library by the metropolitan branch. It helped rural families during the Depression and 1930s droughts. During World War II, the CWA helped the Women's Land Army and the national effort to make 20,000 camouflage nets.


Charles Kingston sees women's suffrage bill passed by parliament of South Australia in 1894

Premier Charles Cameron Kingston called women’s suffrage the colony’s “greatest constitutional reform”. Queen Victoria called it a “mad wicked folly” but she signed assent to the law in 1895. Kingston had initially opposed votes for women but he had brought in other important laws such as the Married Women’s Property Act 1883. He was persuaded by ministerial colleagues John Cockburn and Frederick Holder and lobbied by the Woman's Christian Temperance Union to introduce the suffrage bill. On August 23, 1894, when the Adult Suffrage Bill was read in the South Australian parliament, the women presented a petition with 11,600 signatures and 122 metres long. On December 18, women were granted both the right to vote and to stand as candidates for parliament – the first legislation in the world of its kind.

Meals on Wheels the legacy of Doris Taylor’s devotion to the aged and disadvantaged

Wheelchair-bound Taylor first showed her concern for the needy by organising a small soup kitchen for Norwood children during the Depression.
She became a vigorous campaigner for the aged and disadvantaged after World War II. Meals on Wheels as an organisation could be traced to a meeting in the Rechabite Hall, Norwood, in 1953. It first kitchen opened in Port Adelaide in 1954. The organisation’s first chairman was the MP for Norwood, Don Dunstan.

Gladys Elphick provides the ways for South Australian Aboriginal women to find a voice

Gladys Elphick was founding president (1964-73) of the Council of Aboriginal Women of South Australia, worked tirelessly alongside many influential Aboriginal women trailblazers including Betty Watson, Margaret Lawrie, Maude Tongerie and Lowitja O’Donoghue to start vital services such as Nunkuwarrin Yunti, Tauondi College and the Aboriginal Legal Rights Movement. The Council of Aboriginal Women of South Australia employed a social worker, set up sports clubs and arts and crafts groups, and encouraged women to learn public speaking to confidently express their ideas. An advocate of adult education courses for Aboriginal people, Elphick in the 1960s helped arrange evening art classes, conducted at Challa Gardens primary school by John Morley. These and other programs led in 1973 to the college of Aboriginal education, as part of the Underdale campus of the South Australian College of Advanced Education. In 1966-71, Elphick was a member of the South Australian Aboriginal Affairs Board. In 1973, the Aboriginal Community Centre was set up to house several services, with Elphick as treasurer and life member. She founded of the Aboriginal Medical Service in 1977. Known as “Aunty Glad”, Elphick in 1984 was named South Australian Aborigine of the Year. In 2003, the Aboriginal women’s group advising the International Women’s Day Committee (South Australia) presented the first Gladys Elphick award.

Contact Us

We welcome positive constructive feedback